Bullets = death

I’m not referring of course, to the bullets that come out of a gun, but rather the ubiquitous bullet point: •

I was told 4 years ago to have my wisdom teeth taken out, which I put off (a brilliant move on my part) taking care of until today, when I found myself sitting in an oral surgeon’s office watching a video that is to inform me all about the process. At the point that the presenter is discussing possible complications, a bullet point list comes up on the screen. Here’s what I see:

  • blahblahblahblahblah
  • blahblahblahblahblah
  • blahblahblahblahblah
  • blahblahblahblahblah
  • blahblahblahblahblah
  • blahblahblahblahblah
  • POTENTIALLY FATAL

WHAT???!!!!

At its best, the bullet point list is an easy shortcut that helps to properly organize your ideas – particularly for presentations, which are all about talking points. At its worst, the bullet point list is for lazy bastards with no imagination.

Dan and Chip Heath had a related column in Fast Company a few months back (yes, I realize I reference this magazine a lot, but it’s the only one I read on a regular basis):

We’ve all had the experience of being in the audience as a presenter clicks to a slide with eight bullet points. As he starts discussing the first one, we read all eight. Now we’re bored. He’s lost us.

He’s lost us? Or killed us?

Posted on February 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

